Defining the boundaries of municipalities and cities, new cities [projekt rozporządzenia]

How many municipalities, counties and voivodeships are there on the administrative map of Poland? What are their limits? How many places have the status of a city? Do not forget to include the above data and the year to which they relate. It turns out that these numbers are not constant.

Principles of Changing Administrative Boundaries

Under the Municipal Self-Government Act, the Council of Ministers establishes, adds, subdivides, and abolishes municipalities by decree, and also grants a municipality or municipality the status of a city. Moreover sets and changes the names of municipalities and the seats of their authorities. The above regulation can also be issued at the request of the interested municipal council. The determination and change of the boundaries of municipalities is done in a way that ensures that the territory of the municipality is as homogeneous as possible in terms of settlement and spatial planning, taking into account social, economic and cultural ties, and allows for to perform public duties. At the same time, a municipality or city is assigned the status of a city, its boundaries are defined and modified in a way that takes into account the social and technical infrastructure, the urban layout and the character of buildings.

Under similar circumstances, the boundaries of poviats and poviats are regulatedchanges to the borders of the voivodeship in connection with the creation, merger, division or abolition of poviats – after consultation with the decision-making bodies of local government units to which these changes relate.

Amendments introduced by the Regulation of the Council of Ministers

July 25, 2022 Through dissemination, the Council of Ministers has adopted another ordinance on determining the boundaries of some municipalities and cities and granting the status of a city to some places. Every year, such regulations change the administrative map of the country’s local government. These changes will take effect from January 1 of the following year – that is, from January 1, 2023:

  • 15 cities get city status: Miekinia (Dolnośląskie Voivodeship), Jeżów (ódzkie Voivodeship), Dąbrowice (ódzkie Voivodeship), Rozprza (ódź Voivodeship), Ujazd (Łódź Voivodeship), Książ Wielki (ódzkie Voivodeship) Mazowieckie Voivodeship), Jadów (Mazowieckie Voivodeship), Włodowice (Śląskie Voivodeship), Łopuszno (więtokrzyskie Voivodeship), Piekoszów (lskie Voivodeship), Poland
  • boundaries will change: the municipalities of Domaniów and the municipalities of Wiązów (Province of Dolnośląskie), the towns of Sanok and the municipalities of Sanok (Province of Podkarpackie), the towns of Słupsk and the municipalities of Słupsk (Province of Pomerania), the city of Koszalin, the municipalities of Biesiekierz, the municipalities of Manowo (Province of West Pomerania), the municipalities of Sianów and Mielno (West Pomerania Voivodeship), and from January 1, 2024: the town of Rybnik and the town of Rydułtowy (ląskie Voivodeship), the municipalities of Ińsko and the municipalities of Kalisz Pomorski (Zachodniopomorskie province).
  • The city limits are also being changed: Brzeg Dolny (Dolnośląskie Voivodeship), Małomice (Lubuskie Voivodeship), Góra Kalwaria (Mazowieckie Voivodeship), Jarocin (Greater Poland Voivodeship), Cedynia (Zachodniopomorskie Voivodeship), Chojna (Zachodniopomrskie Voivodeship).

In the current year, the minister responsible for public administration received 33 requests from local authorities to set new boundaries or to grant certain places the status of city. Not all of them were reflected in the draft regulation to the extent that the applicable self-government rules were complied with. While some of the proposed changes, following a positive opinion on the application by voivodes, were 100% accepted by the Council of Ministers, some were only partially or even partially accepted. This was the situation for the municipality of Słupsk in the Pomerania Province, which, in relation to the land requested, will be obtained only about 1/6 (part of the area of ​​​​the Płaszewko registration area with the garbage dump in this area). Likewise, the West Pomeranian Municipality of City with poviat rights – Koszalin, which will not be expanded by the postulated Municipality of Mścice from the Municipality of Będzino. The change of administrative boundaries is at the expense of smaller municipalities, therefore, for example, the coastal municipality of Mielno in the same voivodeship will be reduced at the expense of the village of Łazy, giving the municipality of Sianów access to the sea .

An interesting read is the justification for the positive and negative consideration of applications from local authorities, along with the results of public consultations, along with the text of the draft regulation available at the link:

dr. Ewa Wlodyka

Leave a Comment